I Am An Introvert

This submission is from Aspermama. It was originally published on her blog, and is reprinted here with permission.

-|-

Point:  I am an introvert.

Counterpoint:  I need to open up more and stop being so inhibited.  I need to be entertaining and witty and the life of the party or people won’t want to spend time with me.  Thoughtful conversations are boring.  If I’m not a team player I’ll never survive in the workplace, and anyway it is arrogant to want to work alone.  People will take it as snobbery.  I really need to get out more and fit more activities into my schedule.  I am anti-social and dull to spend so much time alone.  Everyone should be an extrovert.

Actual Point:  By choosing my words carefully, I protect myself and those around me; people trust me.  By taking the time to think before I speak, I have more interesting or insightful things to say.  Witty banter is fun but people also appreciate a bit of depth , and introverts and extroverts can complement each other this way and make the conversation more dynamic.  Some people work more efficiently in a team, but some people work more efficiently by themselves, and good employers recognize this.  Many great inventors, artists, and writers worked alone and yet contributed hugely to humanity.  If I try to do too many things at once I’ll end up doing all of them poorly, but if I take the time I need to recharge I can excel at the things I do.  Needing time alone doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy spending time with others-I love every minute spent with my family-and I am often using that time alone to think, reflect, create, and expand my knowledge of the universe.  Introverts provide balance to extroverts; the world needs both.

Conclusion I am an introvert, and that’s ok.

Leave a Reply

